The First Official Quilt Goes to Kendall

Bridgett and Wayne are two of my most dearest of friends. Bridgett and I both went to college at Furman University and lived together after we graduated. We are each other’s “Oreo” (you’ll get it later). When Bridgett was pregnant with her daughter Kendall 2 years ago, I knew I was going to make her something, but I wanted it to be extra special. After a trip to Nashville, TN, where I saw gorgeous fabrics gallore, I was inspired to try a quilt.  Now, Bridgett’s family is from Louisiana and Texas, so I knew she would appreciate the southern comfort of a quilt. But Bridgett is also a very classy & crafty lady – she’s one of my fellow “Marthas” (she owns perideaudesigns.com). With that in mind, I knew I had to up my game, break out the big guns and get fancy fabric. That’s how Amy Butler entered my life – love her! It wasn’t long before I discovered Joel Dewberry & others.

While I’m at it, can we talk about the Baby Design industry for a second?

Seriously, why should parents have to deal with ugly, cheesy baby items in their beautiful homes? I can’t tell you the horror I feel when I walk into a gorgeous house, round the corner into the nursery and see toys, blankets and accessories made out of the new neon, primary colors in hideous patterns (sorry Mattel & Fisher-Price, NOT a fan of them. Go back to your vintage days, please). You know the only reason those items are existant in the house is because mom & dad had NO OTHER OPTION. But praise be to the Lord, we have been saved! Designers have caught wind of this issue these past few years and have made cheaper versions of their pretty lines available to the masses. Classy rattles are no longer only for the elite & celebrity babies, people! Do you research and break beyond Baby Einstein. Now you can coordinate baby with your sofa pillows & drapes you worked so hard on finding/designing. You fellow “Marthas” know what I’m talkin’ about. Gotta love it.

But enough of my soapbox, enjoy the pictures of Kendall’s quilt (courtesy of her mommy, Bridgett)

Until I get my own fabric line up and runing, you can purchase your own classy fabric from my two faves!

http://www.amybutlerdesign.com/products/                         http://www.joeldewberry.com/

 

 

 
2 Comments

Filed under My Awesome Creative Friends, Product Line

2 responses to “The First Official Quilt Goes to Kendall

  1. Have you ever heard of Spoonflower? It’s a website where you can design your own fabric and then order it in quantities as small as a fat quarter! There are even some eco-friendly options!!! The prices are a little high, but may be worth it if you are wanting to use your own fabric designs. Let me know what you think! 😀

Leave a Reply

