The Next Generation

I have 3 girl friends from high school, Katie, Sheree and Kristin, who I’ve spent many, many hours with dreaming and planning our futures.  We always talked about how we wanted our families to be close, live down the street from one another, buy a beach house  for family vacations and raise all of our children together. Not once did we think that some of us would get married years before the others and some would have kids way ahead of the rest of us. Nor did we think of the fact that I would end up living across the country in Los Angeles and Katie would be in Colorado. Opps. We did well in the dreaming department, not so great in the time or geography management. Though I’ve been married longer than some of them, they had kids before me, so I live vicariously through them for now. And by living vicariously through them, I mean I spoil their children rotten and then hand them back for them to deal with the consequences…just like a good auntie should, thank you. 

So, Katie was first to venture into motherhood. She pulled the whole “oh, we’re thinking of starting to try in a year or so” and then calls us 2 months later and tells us she’s preggers. Sneaky little fox.  She had precious, darlin’ Pierce 2 years ago on June 9th. This was before my quilt days, so she got a blanket. Since I was in Los Angeles, I couldn’t get back to her shower. BUT, I was able to get fabric while in Hawaii for her blanket. (know that sounds odd, but Hawaii is closer and cheaper to fly to than Pensacola and the trip was planned and booked before I knew she was preggers. So, there.) Hawaii fabric is special because Katie and her hubby went to Kaui for their honeymoon. AND the fabric had blue gators on it…Katie and her hubby both went to University of Florida (which I still have a major problem with as a hardcore LSU fan, but we try to keep our friendship our top priority. Geaux Tigers.), so that was a nice touch. I admit, it’s totally cheesy fabric and not a bit classy…but she did have a boy and like he’s ever going to care. Right? 

Pierce's Blanket

 

Nevertheless, I think it turned out rather adorable, don’t you? Too bad the background wasn’t orange – would’ve been extra UF Gator nauseating. Alas. 

Fast forward a couple of years to 2009 – August 8th to be exact. It was Sheree’s turn to play Mommy. She had gorgeous little Rylee. Sheree was a lucky gal – all of us girls threw her a shower in June. 

Shirley (my mom), Tiffany, Sheree, Katie, & Kristin

 

Since she waited until my skills progressed, she got one of my glorious quilts, of course. I did my best to coordinate the colors with her nursery theme – brown, pink and green dots an circles. (Again, I need to start designing my own fabric line, because it was mission from God to find anything close to that combination of colors that didn’t have ponies prancing and spelling out “BABY” with cubes. Honestly.) Rylee didn’t get the exact color scheme, but she got pink & brown, ADORABLE classy butterflies and an AWESOME aqua honeycomb pattern. What more can a gal ask for? 

Rylee Reese on her quilt!

 

Who's a little model showing off her quilt?

 

These pictures are from a few months ago. Sheree assures me that she is going to take updated pictures with Rylee playing on the quilt. I’ll get some of the quilt in action when I meet Rylee for the first time over the Christmas holiday. I know, the anticipation! 

Kristin and I have yet to have kids (Gasp!), much to our parent’s dismay, I’m sure. Calm down people! I assure you, they will come eventually, but it’s as they say – It’s ALL in the timing and the timing just ain’t yet right. Until then, praise be to God in the highest that we have Pierce and Rylee to rent out. Maybe Katie and Sheree will have their 2nd and 3rd kids while Kristin and I have our first. That way we would still be raising our kids together – ish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, My Awesome Creative Friends, Product Line

Leave a Reply

