Woolard’s Friends

A while ago I introduced my little mascot, Woolard. He is a small sheep my Aunt, Gail Freeman, made me. The process is Needle Felting. I have no idea how it works, but I think it’s one of the neatest things ever. As you can see, the craftiness runs deep in the family. Not only does Aunt Gail needle felt, she works with stained glass, sews, is a makeup artist and more. She’s always learning something new; I love that about her. She keeps me on my toes.  About a month ago, I got a mystery package in the mail. It was from Aunt Gail. Yay! You know how I LOVE treats! I had sent her some coasters and she sent 3 adorable needled felted kitties in return. 

Three cute kitties

 

Close up on the face

 

Kitty Butt

 She kept telling me that my treat wasn’t anything special, but she knows how much I love kitties. To which I say… ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Please, look at the photos again and try to imagine the TIME that went into each kitty. TIME, friends, is very special. What many people don’t realize is that in this day and age where instant gratification, fast food, and mass production rule the world, anything HANDMADE is practically priceless. At one time “Handmade” = “Craftmanship.” A craftsman spent YEARS being an apprentice, learning and perfecting, before venturing out and creating their own product and art. That’s why in my little world, beautiful, custom, handmade things are treasures to me. Just for the TIME and THOUGHT that people put into their creations makes it 10 times more special.

 So, Aunt Gail, my treats ARE special. They are my treasures. I think of you and home every time I pass by and pat them. It’s hard being 2,000 miles away from home, but your art is my comfort and visual reminders of my family. Thank you for taking the time to create and share. It makes the biggest difference in my world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, My Awesome Creative Friends, On a Personal Note

Leave a Reply

