Coastal Safari – Quilt for Amy

Amy is a special friend of mine. We grew up down the street from one another until her family moved to another neighborhood when we hit middle school age. Our families were made to be close friends. She has two sisters, Tracy and Kelly. Tracy is the oldest, Amy is the same age as my older brother, Toby, and Kelly is my age. Our families had dinner together at least once a week, or so it seemed. We were always playing “cars” on our bikes around the neighborhood or reenacting ANNIE or SOUND OF MUSIC for our parents. I think it would be safe to say we had a charmed childhood to say the least. And all of us cherish ever single minute. Now we all grown up and having kids of our own…ok, the Eswine girls are having kids of their own. Toby and I haven’t even started. We’ll catch up someday.

Amy and a few of her friends purchased one of my Seaside Manor quilts for a friend about a year ago. She always keeps tabs on my work and leaves sweet, encouraging comments (thanks, Amy!). So, when Amy placed an order for her very own quilt for her second baby boy, I was extra excited. It had to be especially perfect. 

She doesn’t have an official theme set, but her colors are gray, yellow and teal. I know, how very chic and modern of her! I love it. During my vacation up the Pacific Northwest Coast, I stopped at every quilt shop I set eyes on. My poor husband, he was so patient with me as I bought one fabric here, another there, then would toss out the first one when I found the third because it didn’t work just right. It was difficult at first because I couldn’t find that “one perfect fabric” that becomes the foundation of the design. But, FINALLY, off a twisty, one-lane dirt path road in the middle of who-knows-where-I-was Oregon, I found the Giraffe fabric and everything fell into place.

The Foundation Fabric – Giraffes

 The Coastal Safari Fabrics

 I am so in love with the giraffe. I was fortunate to stumble upon it again at the Fabric Depot in Portland, OR and bought more yardage for other little projects. I think I may have to make a little animal for myself, I love it so much. The first quarter I used for the Baby’s Mason’s Coastal Safari!

Amy and Baby Mason, I wish for you many cuddle times in your Coastal Safari Quilt.  Hopefully I’ll see you all in person in the next year.

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Presents, Baby Solutions, Family, On a Personal Note, Product Line

3 responses to “Coastal Safari – Quilt for Amy

  1. Amy

    Cannot wait to see Baby Kade on this beautiful creation. Thanks for your hard work.

  2. JAyers

    What is the name of the store you found the giraffe fabric? I’ve seen it around the internet and LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I want my SIL to make my 2 yo daughter a patchwork dress out of it.

    Thank you!
    Jenn

  3. Jennifer, I got it at Fabric Depot in Portland Oregon (www.fabricdepot.com). It’s a Michael Miller design. You can check his website too. Glad that you love it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

