Rewiring a Vintage Lamp – What a Theatre Major Will Do for You

I am a proud Theatre Arts graduate. Basically, because I have a Theatre Ars degree, I can do anything. Seriously, you name it, I can do it. And yes, brain surgery and rocket science is in that category, thanks.

When I saw an awesome vintage lime green lamp at a swap meet a few months ago, I had to have it. The only problem was that it didn’t have a harp on it and the cord was split at the plug – um, safety first! Well, since I’m an amazing Theatre Arts major and specialized in lighting, I knew I could easily dismantle the lamp, put on a harp and put on a new plug.  So, I set out to do all of that…and quickly realized how old the lamp was – new parts aren’t made to fit old parts. So, in the end, I just rewired the entire lamp. Which was fun because it was easy and I got to put in a fancy modern clear cord instead of keeping the nasty old brown cord. In decor it’s all about appearances and aesthetics.  Now all I have to do is find a shade I like. Oh, that’s another journey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Decor and Parties, On a Personal Note, Organization, Recycle & Reuse, Vintage Finds

Leave a Reply

