Happy Birthday to Me!

TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY!

I love birthdays, but am especially obessed with my own. It’s the bestest day ever. I do a count down ever year for my loved ones starting a month ahead of time. It’s a tradition. In the past I’ve gone all out and threw crazy themed parties: Annie and 80s Roller Skating (yup, wood rink and all!) being the last few. As fate would have it, my love of the 70s made this year’s slightly different.

As you read in my Inspiration from the Past posting, while on our Pacific Coast trip, David and I found an awesome Antique Mall in Bellingham, WA where I found my birthday present – a vintage 70s light fixture. I was instantly in love and knew I would regret not getting it. So, I did what had to – bargained with the seller…and my husband.

Now, let me explain a little. David and I are EXCELLENT bargain shoppers and are major recylers and re-users.  We’ve both grown up in modest households and we were taught early on to use coupons, repourpose and make deals while shopping. When we buy clothes, we go to resale stores like Buffalo Exchange, Crossraods Trading Co. or Goodwill. We buy furniture off of Craigslist and at Swap Meets (Flea Markets for you East Coasters). We book all our travel itenraries on discount websites. In otherwords, we never pay full price for anything (’cause we’re awesome and why should we? Why should anyone?). In addition, we when we DO buy things, they’re usually not big ticket items – we have an one-bedroom apartment, we don’t have room for big ticket. So, I don’t think this light fixture was a thrill for David since it was more “big ticket” than the $30 lamp I bought at TJMax last year.  I knew in order to score my gorgeous light fixture, I had to pull out the big guns – subtracting money from somewhere else.

Understanding what a HUGE deal my birthday is in my world, I turn to David and tell him if I can talk the seller down on the price, I will sacrific my usual crazy birthday party if I could buy the light fixture as my present. I KNOW. HUGE DEAL. Of course, Mr. David is wise and knew this light was probably cheaper that throwing a huge party anyway and left it up to me to decide.

You know I got the light.

I am in love with it and it adds the most beautiful ambiance to the room. I’m happy with my bargain. To make things even sweeter, I put up a large mirror on the wall behind the light fixture. I know it wasn’t in my original bargain, but it just sort of happened.

I was at Salvation Army shopping for vintage t-shirt to make burp cloths out of for a client – that’s another post. I turn around and see a huge black bamboo frame. PERFECT. It’s 3′ x 4′ and only $20. SERIOUSLY?! You can’t get a 8 x 10 frame for that these days.  I snatched it up. Gave it a new coat of high gloss black spray paint and then had a glass guy put in mirror for me. The result – perfection. Very sassy and makes our place feel like it’s twice the size. Why we didn’t think of hanging a huge mirror 6 years ago is beyond me.

But the cherry on top of this story… I’m still having a party…it’s a Come See My Birthday Light Fixture Potluck Birthday Party. Instead of presents, friends are bringing some food to share and will join me in staring  at and oooing and ahhhing over my light fixture all night.  NICE. Everyone wins.

2 Comments

Filed under Decor and Parties, On a Personal Note, Recycle & Reuse, Travel & Nature, Vintage Finds

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Shirley Bordelon

    You are too much:)

  2. Gail

    Girl you are one of a kind!!!! Love ya

Leave a Reply

