Vintage Shirts for Baby’s Burps

We all know I love sewing for my besties. Nicole is one of my closest friends and also my manager. She hosted a baby shower for one of her best friends, Stephanie. Steph is waiting to find her baby’s gender until the birth, so Nicole was looking for something  neutral. She also wanted to get something that Steph really NEEDED. I asked her what did she use most when she was a new Mom and she answered, “You can NEVER have too many bibs and burp cloths.” Done!

As I was sketching ideas, I came up with something completely new for me – Vintage T-Shirts. They are one of the most absorbent things ever, so I figured they would make great bibs and burp cloths. Talk about making something that no one else could every have. Plus, you know how I love to recycle and reuse. Double bonus.Nicole loved the idea and put her complete trust in me. 

Though I personally know and adore Stephanie, I wanted more details about her. Nicole  answered a questionnaire and gave me all sorts of fun Steph facts: eats organic, loves green living, her hubby is from Brazil, she is an artist, loves dogs and all things California.

I spent the weekend shopping at various Goodwill stores with David. We had so much fun plundering through the racks. Of course, we found shirts for our friends who are expecting (Needless to say, I have more sewing to do). We stocked up, people.

It took me a while to get the right size and shape for the bibs and cloths. It was a large learning curve, to say the least. I designed a pattern, but each bib or cloth took on is its own life depending on the design from the shirt. So, I had to make adjustments as I went. The edging was the hardest – and after consulting with a few senior crafters, I bought a new sewing machine foot and finished the edges.

I am in love with every bib and cloth.

The MTV bib is in honor of us growing up in the 80s. I’m sure Steph will appreciate it.

The doggie bib is in honor of Steph’s dog, Buddy. We musn’t neglect the first baby.

I wanted to visually honor Stephanie’s love for green living, eating local and organic and recycling and reusing. Luckily, I found three t-shirts that screamed green – literally. With all the cloths, I had to piece them together to give as much length as possible and give room for the neck cut-out (these won’t fall off as you’re burping baby!). The piecing made for some beautiful designs and imagary. I even added a decorative leaf stitch to the first cloth. It ties it together perfectly! 

Since all the cloths are reversable, I wanted both sides to be interesting. On the Tree Cloth, I appliqued the logo from the front of the t-shirt along with my logo label. It’s my favorite.

One of the most iconic places in California is In-And-Out Burger. We all love it and go often. I’m so incredibly jealous of this one, I’m currently on a mission from God to find another T-shirt to make one for me…you know, for the baby that I don’t have. Of course, I could always use it to throw under my cat when he throws up (when tends to happen on a bi-weekly basis).

When I gave them to Nicole all wrapped up and purdy like, she went ballistic she loved them so much.  The baby shower was this past Saturday and Nicole said, “Steph and the girls went [monkeypoop] over your stuff!!! They all asked about you. Thanks so much!”

I love love making my friends and clients happy. I can’t wait to see photos and video from the shower. I’ll share as soon as I hear from Nicole. You’ll see the bibs and cloths posted in my Etsy store for custom orders soon : www.etsy.com/shop/Lilbumpkin

2 Comments

Filed under Baby Presents, Baby Solutions, On a Personal Note, Product Line, Recycle & Reuse, Vintage Finds

2 responses to “Vintage Shirts for Baby’s Burps

  1. okay, THESE ARE AMAZING!! ::LOVE::

  2. Shirley Bordelon

    you are incredible, my dear sweet one! Mama is so proud!

Leave a Reply

