Treats for my Peeps

Ok, I admit it. I have a hard time accepting help and gifts without wanting to give something in return. I love giving treats. So, when my cousin, Lisa, saved me from death’s door with her cough syrup and an Etsy friend, Jennifer, helped me with marketing fonts – free of charge – you know treats were needed!

Oh, what to make? Nothing too big, but extra special to let the ladies know how much I appreciate them and their generosity. After much debate, I settled on pot holders/trivets and coasters. The next dilemma, what colors?

Well, Lisa was easy – Ole Miss colors, UGH. Now, understand, I’m a hard core LSU fan, most of our family are the same (being from Louisiana, it makes sense). But Lisa has always been the black sheep when it came to football (49ers instead of the Saints? Good Lord.) Nevertheless, I managed to suck it up and cut and piece the fabric together… Of course, playing the LSU fight song and drinking an Abita beer during the process did dull the agony a bit.  

Now, for Jennifer, it was a little harder. We know each other through Etsy. She designed and printed all my labels that adorn my creations – gorgeous, right? I know, she’s awesome. But Jen and I never really chatted beyond our professional messages back and forth. So, instead of guessing I just asked – What’s your favorite room in your home? What are your favorite colors? What’s the color scheme in that room? She answered as if she were my long-lost twin, “I LOVE blues and greens together…and some brown added too. My furniture is like a light olive green. Some may call it baby food/puke green. My walls are aqua-ish. 🙂 Dark brown furniture. I love natural browns, beiges, blues, greens…Does this help?” Um, YES, Jennifer, it does…and by the way, we are the same person.

It was super fun going through my scraps and making art from nothing. And both gals were super excited to get their treats. I’m just happy that I could give something in return and tell them how much I treasure them. Love you gals!

Get your very OWN custom coasters, pot holders and trivets in my Etsy shop! www.etsy.com/shop/Lilbumpkin.com

Lisa’s Response: Just got home to find my treats in the mail! I love love love them- and the Ole Miss colors are awesome ( I know that was hard for you so that makes it even more special!) I am already using them! Love you!  P.S. Great LSU game today!! So happy they beat Bama.. you know that I am a closet LSU fan ( except the weekend before Thanksgiving!)

Jen’s response: Got the treats!!! I got them on Saturday. I LOVE them! 🙂 The fabric is DEFINITELY what I would have chosen…and the labels are just awesome on them! I can’t believe I made those labels…they seem so much better than usual. LOL. THANK YOU so much!!!!!!!
Jennifer

Need labels? Visit Jen’s Etsy Shop! – http://www.etsy.com/shop/JennifersJewels

1 Comment

Filed under Decor and Parties, Family, In the Kitchen, My Awesome Creative Friends, On a Personal Note, Product Line, Recycle & Reuse

One response to “Treats for my Peeps

  1. GOOD STORY!!!!! 🙂 LOVE my stuff! You are such a sweet, caring and fun person! Talk to you soon!!!!!

Leave a Reply

