Pastel Heaven turns to Emma’s Heaven

About a month ago, my friend, Celia, and I had lunch to catch up. It had been many months since we had been able to see each other. I found out she had experienced a terrible loss. One of her closest friends from college, Noel, died of brain cancer. He was 32. If that wasn’t bad enough, Noel was married, to Hannah, and had a baby girl, Emma, on the way. I can’t even imagine what the family is going through. And my heart breaks for all their friends. It’s so hard to loose anyone at any age, but to loose a friend so young and have the world robbed of amazing talent and laughter just plain sucks.

 Later that night, I was making some vintage t-shirt burp cloths and I couldn’t get Hannah and Baby Emma off my mind. At one point I tried to put myself in Hannah’s shoes and I just cried. I couldn’t even start to try to “get” where she is (and never want to). I wanted to do something to help, but I knew that there’s really nothing anyone can do to make it better. And plus, I don’t even know Hannah personally. But still, I couldn’t shake them from my thoughts. By the time finished the cloths, I had made a decision.

“Baby needs a quilt.”

I immediately emailed Celia and told her that I wanted give Hannah and Emma some love and the only way I know of doing that is giving them a quilt to hold and cry into when it hurts and to cuddle and make some happy memories when it doesn’t hurt. I instructed Celia to go onto my Etsy shop and choose the one she thought Noel would like best for Emma and it’s was hers. After much debate, Pastel Heaven won (the nursery walls are a pastel green that matches the quilt). It’s now officially called Emma’s Heaven.

Oh, it doesn’t stop there though. While Celia was in the shop she spied and bought the Giraffe onesie and then ordered a custom butterfly onesie. With the butterflies, I used a tiny pink flower fabric I knew Celia fell in love with when I made the Boob Quilt to auction off for her AVON Breast Cancer Walk. I was happy to see her immediately recognize and oogle over it.

I hate that we have to deal with sadness and pain in life. I hate that we are cheated out of friends early on in the game by diseases. It’s not fair. But thank the Lord we have little reminders of joy and the grand possibilities of life in babies like Emma. I pray her life is filled with happiness and endless hilarious stories of her Daddy. I hope that Hannah feels a little comfort when she tucks Emma in her quilt. I probably will never meet Hannah or Emma, but I hope their days are a tiny bit brighter and they can feel my hugs and prayers every time they snuggle their quilt.

Sometimes a quilt is just neeed. Simple as that.

Please read more about Noel and his beautiful life at: http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/noelsmith

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Presents, Baby Solutions, On a Personal Note, Product Line

3 responses to “Pastel Heaven turns to Emma’s Heaven

  1. Shirley Bordelon

    My child, you are such an incredible young woman! I am so very proud to be your “mamma’, and I know God wiped tears of pride and thanksgiving from His eyes when seeing your generous and caring tribute:)

  2. Mom Walsh

    What a generous and thoughtful thing for you to do. We need more things done like that in this world.
    Love Ya so much!
    Mom Walsh

  3. celia

    Thanks you so much for writing this and for your beautiful gift of the quilt! Emma is already the spitting image of Noel and I look forward to many years of fun stories from her too.

Leave a Reply

